MOM….


Hope you dont mind, felt like a poem tonight……

Mom

Everytime I see her

I think of the image

She used to see

The one that horrified her

The one that made her question

every minute..

The one that made her

Spend her time waiting

For the second chance that never came.

Everytime I see her

I wonder if they do,

If the battle wounds

Are visible

Everytime I see her

I see the the strugle for peace

And the fear of surrendering

Everytime I see her,

I see the remnants

Of the image she cursed at, spit at,

The one she desperately wants back.

Everytime I feel her rough ,

wrinkled hands

I am reminded  of the times

When they used to

Cover her mouth in laughter

I feel the years of wasted time,

The heartache found,

I remember how once

They were messengers of love

and now they lay folded waiting.

Everytime I hear the silence

Engulfing the room where she lays,

I think of how once it was filled

With the songs of a woman

Alive with hope, happiness

Until the songs

Came fewer and fewer

Burdened by the plight

Of a woman surrendering

To her worst enemy, her only friend

Leave a Reply

