Are pills the solution?


This question was posted in our formspring, which is a place where you can ask us questions anonymously. I thought it would be interesting to post the question and my response on our blog and see what other people’s opinions are– feel free to leave a comment letting us know what you think!

QUESTION: How can I control myself? I don’t wanna take pills, cuz I’m very addictable to things. I think pills is not the solution, or is it?

ANSWER: Medication works for some people– and they may have to try out many different types of medication before they find one (or a combination) that works for them. Some people argue that medication just masks the symptoms, but doesn’t get rid of them– which I agree with. I also believe that medication can sometimes be useful in getting you back on your feet and feeling well enough to get out there and take control of your symptoms by finding therapy and healthy coping skills that work for you. If you are considering starting medication, or just want to know more about it, talk to your doctor.

2 Responses

  1. Hi Lauren,

    I am so glad see you have brought up the subject of medication. In my recovery medication has meant the difference between being chronically ill or getting better. I am on a therapeutic does of mood stabilizers that I can’t live with out, a small dose of anti-psychotic medication and a even smaller dose of antidepressant. I have learned from research that this is an very effective combination for many people with BPD (See http://www.bpddemystified.com/index.asp?id=21). For me the mood stabilizer regulates my emotions and many of my thought processes. It keeps me from becoming suicidal and depressed. The anti-psychotic helps with faulty cognition’s that others don’t like me or are talking about me. It also helps with dissociation.

    There is a myth out there that medications have a limited use in the treatment of BPD. As somebody who owes her life, at least in part, to medication I hope we can dispel this for the sake of all people with BPD who might benefit.

  2. Are pills the solution?…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

